Keeping the juices flowing

I’ve been doing a lot of off computer thinking since my Dad died this summer; luckily, blogs cannot sue for neglect. With another new year just days away, I wanted to thank those of you who have visited and those of you who have left your imprint in comments. The brain image came from my son’s girlfriend’s Facebook page. I suppose it can be interpreted any number of ways, including mine: For 2010, let’s keep our juices flowing!

My Dad was an entrepreneur. While he was alive, it never occurred to me to describe him as such, but I’ve been thinking about him – his birthday was December 19 – and thinking about the future.

My Dad embraced life with zest and humor and determination. He was born in 1925 and saw his father’s Studebaker dealership decimated by the Depression of the 1930s. It decimated his father, as well, the accumulated stress, slight paunch, and cigar smokes felling him with a heart attack at the age of 52. (Cigars were a family business on my grandmother’s side, and she even had one named for her.)

My Dad ran a mutual fund for a number of years while also managing a small accounting practice and being CFO of a major appliance chain. He was a CPA (certified public accountant) and lawyer, specializing in tax law. Starting a mutual fund and small accounting practice both surely fall in the category of entrepreneur. Motivated by the Depression, and being in the army during World War II, I think my Dad just figured you make your own opportunities and you work assiduously to provide for yourself and your family. I think he would smile to hear me describe him as an entrepreneur. And perhaps he would smile to know that, as I think about the future, the idea of being an entrepreneur is crossing my mind.

You are welcome to leave a comment :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.