“I Remember Better When I Paint”

The creative arts bypass the limitations and they simply go to the strengths. People still have imaginations intact all the way to the very end of their progressive disease.

Thanks to Julia, who left a comment on my previous post, I found out about the documentary I Remember Better When I Paint. (The quote above comes from the trailer.) Rather than translate to my words, here is the description of the film from the About section of the film’s site:

“I Remember Better When I Paint”, narrated by Olivia de Havilland, is the first international documentary about the positive impact of art and other creative therapies on people with Alzheimer’s and how these approaches can change the way we look at the disease. A film by Eric Ellena and Berna Huebner, presented by French Connection Films and the Hilgos Foundation. Among those who are featured are noted doctors and Yasmin Aga Khan, president of ALzheimer’s Disease International and daughter of Rita Hayworth, who had Alzheimer’s.

I am eager to see this film, and suspect it will add to the eye- and mind-opening ideas that I’ve been exposed to in the past few years regarding care of those with Alzheimer’s. Indeed, if you live in the New York metropolitan area, there is a screening of the film planned for March 10, 2011, on Melville, Long Island. You can read more about the film, and see a trailer at the film’s site, which is a wordpress blog (just like Neurons Firing 🙂

If any of you knows anyone with Alzheimer’s or dementia who is participating in an arts program, and if you feel comfortable sharing the experiences, I would greatly appreciate your adding a comment to this post. Thanks!

6 thoughts on ““I Remember Better When I Paint”

  1. synapsesensations Post author

    Hi Margarete,

    Apologies for this delayed response to your post on my Neurons Firing blog! You had asked if the movie “I Remember Better When I Paint” is accessible elsewhere.

    As far as I know, you can [ http://www.amazon.com/Remember-Better-When-Paint-Alzheimers/dp/B002UZE8S8 ]purchase it from amazon, and a [ http://www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=i+remember+better+when+i+paint&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8 ]search turned up a number of resources, but no place for renting online. You might contact the folks at the [ http://www.irememberbetterwhenipaint.com/ ]home site and see if they know of any place that has the video for rent.

    Cheers,
    Laurie

  2. Margarete

    Sounds like a great film! I’m only sorry that I’m finding out about this so long after this blog went up. Is the movie on Netflix, or accessible in some other way? I love to be able to share with some of my clients. 🙂

  3. synapsesensations Post author

    Hi Noreen,

    Thank you both for your comment and your offer to share some of your experiences. I would be delighted if you would you be interested in sharing some of your experiences as a guest blogger on Neurons Firing.

    I am interested in learning more about what you and Legacies does. A quick search turned up the Legacies Facebook page, as well as the N.E.W. Curative Rehabilitation site. I notice Legacies was founded in 2010.

    As for the movie, I wound up ordering it on amazon.com and expect to receive it later this week. I am eagerly looking forward to viewing it. My Dad co-existed with Alzheimer’s for close to ten years, which is why I am so interested in your program. Had I realized the opportunities and benefits of arts and creative expression, I would have provided him with access. Sometimes I kick myself for not thinking of this type of approach when he was still here. With that said, we did a lot of singing and piano playing 🙂

    All the best,
    Laurie

  4. synapsesensations Post author

    Hi Esther,

    Thank you for your comment on my blog post. Where are you taking your art therapy courses?

    Thanks for your offer to share your conclusions – I’d definitely be interested to hear more about your research project. Not sure what advice I can offer, but please feel free to ask me questions and I will happily be of assistance, if possible.

    Cheers,
    Laurie

  5. Noreen Greatens

    I am the Executive Director of a non profit organization that does Creative Expression with Individuals with Memory Impairment Illness. We have been using the arts to work with people with early stage memory loss thru end of life . I would love the opportunity to share some of our experiences. Legacies Arts Project , Inc is located in Green Bay WI. “I Remember Better When I Paint” will be shown in April along with Berna Huebner visiting . Contact is welcome

  6. esther

    Hello, i am a student for art therapy. I work with elderly with alzheimer. And right this moment i am bussy with resarch for art therapy with alzheimer and a depression. If you like i will share my conclusions with you. And mayby you have some advise for me.
    Esther

You are welcome to leave a comment :-)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.