Learning Creative Learning

I am taking my first ever MOOC! That’s a Massively Open Online Course. And the course I’m taking is MIT’s Learning Creative Learning. I am a huge fan of Mitch Resnick and Scratch, so when this course was advertised and I saw it was offered by the MIT Media Lab, it was a quick and easy decision to participate. Plus I wanted to experience participating in a MOOC.

The course has begun, and I am going to post my written responses here. (Other responses will be Scratch programs, so the best I’ll be able to do is provide a link to them.) Below is my post to the lcl-417 Google Group – my smaller group of some 12 folks, carved out of the massive course group of a few thousand.

In preparation for the second session, we were asked to read several articles, view a video, and then comment on them. My comments relate to Joi Ito’s blog posts (Formal vs Informal Education, Reading the Dictionary, Dubai and Learning about the Unknowable) and his keynote (Keynote to Open Educational Resources meeting).

This Week in LCL: Particularly enjoyed reading Joi Ito’s blog posts.

Months prior to this MOOC, I had watched a video of Joi speaking and had read about his appointment to the Media Lab. What fascinated me then, as with now, was his background, and his approach to formal education. He did what worked best for him, yet it turns out that approach may very well be a good path for a multitude of students just setting out from high school.

I think of the spiral path to formal education that my husband, my two sons, and I have each taken. Long ago I concluded that the straight arrow from high school to college, a process which was the norm when I was a kid, is not necessarily the best path to learning.

Joi may first strike folks as being particularly unusual or creative or self-motivated. And indeed, not everyone following a similar path is going to wind up in an equivalent position! However, pursuing a path that makes sense for the individual may likely lead to a position of creative and productive  satisfaction. And that, I believe, is the whole point.

Leave a Reply

