Hanging out at YogaJournal.posterous.com

I’ve been focused on my yoga since July’s FAMI workshop. Actually, it’s not so much my yoga practice but my desire to teach yoga that has caught my focus.

Last weekend I took a two-day Chair Yoga workshop with Julia Hough, and this weekend I will be assisting her and her colleague with their Preventing Burnout workshop at Mala Yoga in Brooklyn Heights.

Having made two momentous changes in our lives, my husband and I left our school of many years (27 for him, 14 for me) to pursue new creative endeavors. While he is taking a gap year to focus on sustainable architecture and teaching AP Computer Science online, I am teaching at a school in New Haven and pursuing my yoga teacher training.

This is taking shape in a number of ways. I am now the delighted owner of an Apple iPad2 (thanks to my husband 🙂 and have been making yoga movies using iMovie. The movies (available on vimeo and youtube, as well as at yogajournal.posterous.com) let me see what I look and sound like when doing and teaching yoga.

I have been blogging more at yogajournal.posterous.com.

And I am investigating Let Your Yoga Dance. LYYD provides teacher training to teach special populations, particularly folks with Parkinsons and mild dementia.

Over a year and a half ago, I determined to become certified to teach Chair Yoga. To help me be a better teacher, I also thought it would be helpful to take the 200-hour yoga teacher training. I began that process in April, completing the first 100 hours, but circumstances precluded my completing the second 100 hours.

Since then, I have taken the FAMI workshop, last weekend’s Chair Yoga workshop, all the while continuing the search for a program that would provide the training for me to switch careers. I think I have found that program! In two weeks I will be observing a Let Your Yoga Dance for Special Populations class taught by Andrea Cashman. Next probable step: sign up for the training!

Leave a Reply

