Farewell to Louie

Perhaps you remember my buddy Louie? We have had the pleasure of his company for the past year and a month. Alas, the Science department at school now has space for Louie, and Wednesday morning we reluctantly returned him to his academic home. [June 16 Update: Meant to mention that Louie returns all the better off for having had his shoulder repaired by our younger son, a resourceful orthopedist!]

I have enjoyed poking around Louie’s bones. Being a visual, hands-on learner, the ability to locate, touch and refer to the components of the appendicular and axial skeletons has enhanced my understanding of the entire human bony system. In a little over a month and a half, I will be bone-deep in the human skeleton as a participant in the FAMI (Functional Anatomy for Movement and Injury) four day intensive workshop at Mt Sinai Hospital in New York City.

FAMI is organized by kinected, “an integrative fitness studio” in Manhattan. This workshop is designed for folks who are involved with fitness and movement programs. For me the workshop has a dual appeal – to enhance my ongoing exploration of human anatomy, which in turn will help me to be a more informed practitioner and teacher of yoga.

My interest in the brain led to my interest in human anatomy, which meshes with my interest in yoga. This coming together of interests always makes me smile, and has caused an idea to start jelling…teaching kids about their brains through the art of yoga. If you know of anyone out there doing something like this, please let me know!

3 thoughts on “Farewell to Louie

  1. T

    I want a buddy like Louie too! Since I was pregnant with my first child (three years ago) I have been interested in human body too. I sometimes fantasize doing something that involves physician fitness knowledge too. But I don’t find time right now. At only 27, I also feel like I’m too old to start such a serious educational pursuit, but you inspire me!
    Teaching about brain through yoga is an intriguing idea. I would totally be there.
    I enjoy reading your posts. 🙂
    cheers,
    T

  2. synapsesensations Post author

    You performed such excellent surgery on him to repair his shoulder!

Leave a Reply

