Daily Archives: July 4, 2008

A Sharp Post

Oh my gosh, I am a guest blogger! Well, I’ve written one post and it’s too early to know if this will continue, but for now please feel free to pop over to SharpBrains.com and check out 10 Brain Tips That Help Me Teach…and Learn.

It was an interesting process writing a post to be published elsewhere. I had a tough time getting started and Alvaro kindly gave me some topic suggestions, which helped get my flow going.

The curious part was maintaining my voice while trying to take into consideration the readers of the SharpBrains blog.

Both for SharpBrains and Neurons Firing, I’d like to work on keeping my style while whittling down some of my wordiness. A student sent me a link to a recent Slate article, Lazy Eyes – How We Read Online, which makes some helpful and entertaining points about not only how we read online text, but also about the usefulness of blogging. Ahem, a quoted source in the article is not a fan of blogging, however, the points on how text should best be formatted for reading online are well taken (though that doesn’t mean I’m going to always follow them ;-) )