Plasticity

Plasticity. What does the word conjure for you? For me, it used to bring to mind a piece of saran wrap (what I call “fluid plastic” because it can bend and smush), but now it means something else a bit more powerful.

picture-2.pngI am reading Norman Doidge’s book, The Brain That Changes Itself: Stories of Personal Triumph from the Frontiers of Brain Science. Doidge and his book have been referred to previously on Neurons Firing; just click on “plasticity” in the tag cloud at the right to reference three posts, one just a few days ago and the other two from spring of this year.

Neuroplasticity is the brain’s ability to rewire itself, and this means that the brain – our intelligence – is not something fixed in concrete but rather a changing, learning entity. As I make my way through Doidge’s book, be assured there will be more posts to come on the topic. Meanwhile, you can listen to a lengthy interview with him on The Brain Science Podcast with Ginger Campbell.

3 thoughts on “Plasticity

  1. synapsesensations Post author

    Hello and thanks for your comment! The psych-files podcast is a new find for me, so thanks for the suggestion. I just gave the site a quick tour, and already know I’ll enjoy Michael Britt’s commentary. (For readers of this comment, The Psych Files podcast can be fond here: http://www.thepsychfiles.com/)

    Glad you enjoyed Norman Doidge’s book. I’ve written a number of posts that reference him, so please feel free to check them out here: http://neurons.wordpress.com/tag/norman-doidge/

    Regards,
    Laurie

  2. psi-investigacion

    Hello. I have read the book and I think it is really an amazing book!!

    I enjoyed very much reading it. I have also listened to the brainsience podcast. In fact I read the book after hearing the interview :).

    Have you heard the psych-files podcast? it’s a really nice podcast too. Bye

Leave a Reply

